8 months and counting…

So today marks 8 months until the big day…

It is amazing to think that we have been engaged for nearly 10 months and there is only 8 to go to the day!  It seems like it all happened only yesterday…*dreamy drifty lines indicating dream sequence*…

 

It was 29th June 2013, the 3rd anniversary of our first date.  We went camping in Balmaha along the shores of Loch Lomond, having been given a 3-man tent for Christmas 18 months before by the future in-laws.  We pitched our tent in the inevitable drizzle of a Scottish afternoon, and I noticed that David wasn’t his normal self.  I took this to be due to his hatred of camping, I assumed since the last time we went, the windows were leaking, the inflatable mattress was sinking and he had a serious bout of claustrophobia at 3am…  But no…

I should also mention how the morning of the anniversary went… He gave me a card (which made me cry, he doesn’t buy cards and this one was the sweetest and what he had written still makes me tear up… even thinking about it…) and a gift, the QOTSA new album Like Clockwork…  And I just thought, this guy loves me!

I hadn’t bought him anything, as I had said that going camping could be our gift to ourselves (not sure why this seemed logical to me at the time, as I am the one who loves camping…) so I immediately felt bad about it… But not too bad, as I was a bit disappointed that he wasn’t proposing to me…   ( I had been hoping for it for 18 months up to this point and never having had a single indicator in that direction… never say die!!)

Anyway, we went out for the day in Balmaha.  I bought us a big lunch in the local pub (the Oak Tree Inn – anyone visiting Loch Lomond needs to come here, it is so beautiful and the food is great) – anniversary present through the belly as usual.

The pub was having the annual food and drink festival that day as well so we went around the stalls in the back garden area, bought some raffle tickets and listened to a young band singing quite folk-style music (Have Mercy Las Vegas – get a listen on Soundwave).  After wandering from here, David suggested we take a walk – again can recommend this to anyone!  Some of the most beautiful views in the world.

After wandering along the loch side on the path and looking at the ducks, we stood on a deck over the water for a while… David hung back and was looking through the bag – for the camera I assumed – and took some photos of me pulling faces from under my hood (the rain made many appearances).

Eventually we walked along and came across a path marked as an official walk, which went up some wee dirt stairs up the side of the hill.  As soon as we started to climb…  The famous Scottish midges set in…  So we were basically running up the side of a very rustic hill, batting away the solid wall of ravenous, blood sucking midges out out faces, trying to keep them out of our eyes and mouths.  In other words, the most romantic stroll ever.

And then, we were at the top.  There was an uninterrupted view of Loch Lomond, the midges cleared and the rain stopped.  And then, that boy that I love so damn much, dropped onto one knee… Shakily took out a small black box… Opened it with red, wet eyes… and asked me to marry him.

And I said “Hahaha, no!” and knocked the ring out his hand into some ferns by accident.  Because I am awful.  But obviously, I was kidding, and within seconds, we had relocated the ring – My engagement ring – And it was on my finger… Where it will stay for the rest of my life.  Or until my fingers swell beyond recognition…

Best day of my life really… 🙂

Leave a Reply

